Epcot’s German Pavilion – Reminiscences

29 09 2007

octoberfest.JPG

I am a big of Disneyland and Disneyworld, but that is a topic for another blog. I know you are here for one thing: pretzels! And I promise if you bear with me, I will get to that.

Anyway, I first visited the German Pavilion at Epcot when I was a child. Since there is no “ride” there, I wasn’t too impressed. But fast-forward 10 or 15 years and I sure changed my tune!

There is a restaurant there, which I term more of an “experience” than an actual “restaurant”.  It is called “Oktoberfest” and it is actually what it sounds like!

[ed. note - upon further research, I found the name of the restaurant is called 'The Biergarten' but the festival inside is, in fact, called 'Oktoberfest'. Sorry, my bad.]

This is why I love Epcot so much: it’s the only place on earth where it’s Octoberfest every single day of the year!

I first went to Oktoberfest in college. The food is pretty good and they do a little show where an Oompah band comes out and the whole thing. It’s good, clean fun and nobody leaves disappointed.

It wasn’t until a few years ago, that I found the real treasure of Oktoberfest: free, unlimited pretzel rolls!

Rolls made out of pretzel dough? Heck yes!

I remember my mom being annoyed when I returned to the table with a plate full of nothing but pretzel rolls.

“What are you doing? You’ll spoil your dinner!” she said.

Au contraire, mom!

I probably had fifteen or twenty of them. They were delicious and they had several kinds of dark brown mustards to dip them in.

Now, any trip to Epcot is not complete without a stop at the German Pavilion and a feast of delicious pretzel rolls!

Actions

Information

One response

17 06 2008
justin

unique pretzels are the best

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

